Be The Change at Summit Hills

– Libby Stewart –

What is your position at Summit Hills?

Social Director.

How long have you been at Summit Hills?

I have been working at Summit Hills for the last 7 years.

What excites you the most about this position and this company?

I worked 5 years as the Wellness Director, which is my passion, and to teach this population how to understand and use the potential of their body is incredible. I took over as Social Director, 2 years ago and this position works hand in hand with Wellness. We keep them strong to reimagine how they live at their age now. Senior Living Communities empowers me to create an experience that challenges that belief. Senior Living Communities has empowered me with the opportunity and education to grow as a person and a leader and encourages innovation.

What is your favorite thing about working for Senior Living Communities?

The everyday conversations with Members who share their life experiences.

Describe a time that a Member had a positive impact on your day?

I have recently had a personal challenge and every day they have shared outpourings of love, personal stories, encouragement, and the gift of prayers.

Have you utilized the Elevate program? If not, do you know someone who has?

I was given the opportunity to expand my knowledge to help our Members with Parkinson’s. I have taken opportunities in Chicago and Indianapolis to bring new programs to Wellness.

How have you grown professionally and personally since joining the team?

The only word I have to describe this is – WOW! I have had amazing opportunities to grow with Senior Living Communities. I have been given the chance to improve my education and myself personally. Through the years, I have learned to value people and our diversity.

What about your position allows you to pursue what makes you feel the most passionate in life?

My passion comes from me as I do what I LOVE. My position and my company empower me to follow my passion.

Your community has a monthly social event called a Signature Experience, what is your favorite part of planning, executing, and experience itself?

I love organizing an event and my vision includes the potential reaction and fun the Members will have.

Tell us about your favorite Signature Experience from your time at Summit Hills?

One of the many things I love about this company is that, as Social Directors we can challenge our Members, help them reimagine this part of their lives. Many people are in shock when they realize their parents have been go-karting, axe throwing, and party the night away. At Summit Hills we truly live out The Weller Life. After a few months with the company as Wellness Director, I had a shirt made that had a rocking chair with no sign on it. I believe that you move to our communities to expand your horizons, not sit around. When you get to the nitty-gritty of actual experiences, I love all of them for one reason or another, to watch my Members laughing, a laugh that is from pure joy, reminiscing. This is what fills my heart, creating opportunities to be who they still are in their hearts. Last year, I planned an Amazing Race Signature Experience with our sister community, Cascades Verdae. Cascades is located just down the road in Greenville, South Carolina. The entire experience was planned throughout downtown Greenville, the communities were divided up into teams to compete in challenges. It was remarkable as they realized what all they can do, age is just a number, and when they realize they can do it is truly priceless.

How do you incorporate your Member’s feedback, personal lives, preferences, etc. into your daily programming?

I love when they give me suggestions and I pay attention to who they are. I program for them, everything I do is to create the desire for them to attend.

Fun Fact: What are a few of your favorite hobbies? What is something many people don’t know about you?

I am a sucker for a good Hallmark movie as the good guy always wins. One other passion of mine is injustice and the fight for animals and children’s rights. I grew up on a farm, raised Arabian horses, and showed them professionally. In my time, you’ll find me working out, playing tennis, and working on DIY projects!